# Midlands Mission Center October 20, 2024 Conference Minutes Held Via Zoom and in person Mission Road Congregation at 2:30 p.m.

#### Call to Order

Midlands Mission Center Conference was called to order by mission center president team member, Kat Hnatyshyn. Sharon Robertson has agreed to serve as secretary. Minutes of the previous business meeting, October 15, 2023, are available on the MMC website and were approved by the Leadership Advisory Council.

Minutes for the April 7, 2024 business meeting will need to be approved by the conference body. Motion was made by Kristine Shipley to approve the April 7, 2024 minutes. A second was received and they were approved.

### **Priesthood Call**

Kat Hnatyshyn called for a motion to approve the call of Mary Huffman to serve in the office of High Priest. The motion was made by Aaron Laughlin. It received a second. Mary shared a brief testimony of acceptance. Statements of support were given. The vote was taken and the call of Mary Huffman to the office of High Priest was approved.

Kat called for a motion to approve the call of Steve Beckman to serve in the office of High Priest/Bishop. The motion was made by Gary Collins. It received a second. Steve shared a brief testimony of acceptance. Statements of support were given. The vote was taken and the call of Steve Beckman to the office of High Priest/Bishop was approved.

## **Mission Center Leadership**

The floor was turned over to Apostle Janné Grover for consideration of mission center leadership team for 2025. Apostle Grover brought greetings on behalf of the Central USA mission field leadership team and on behalf of the first presidency.

Apostle Grover called attention to a letter from President Scott Murphy on behalf of the First Presidency, authorizing the sustaining of Kat Hnatyshyn (Chair), Allen Keehler, and Stan Troeh to serve as the Mission Center President Team for the year 2025. Dawn Bassett moved that this motion be approved, and it was seconded and carried by a show of hands in person and via Zoom.

Apostle Grover thanked Kristine Shipley for her years of service on the Financial Leadership Team and called attention to a letter written by Scott Murphy on behalf of the First Presidency and Ron Harmon on behalf of the Presiding Bishopric recommending the sustaining of Steve Beckman (Chair) and Emily Hidy to serve as the Mission Center Financial Officer Team for the year 2025. Apostle Grover explained that a third person would be added to the team and serve by appointment at a later date. Kristine Shipley moved this motion be approved, and it was seconded and carried by a show of hands in person and via Zoom.

Apostle Grover called attention to a letter from herself recommending that Dave Hall be sustained to serve as Mission Center Invitation Support Minister for the year 2025 and called for a motion to that effect. The motion was made by Aaron Laughlin. It was seconded and passed by a show of hands in person and via Zoom.

The floor was returned to Kat Hnatyshyn who called attention to a letter from herself recommending a Mission Center Leadership Advisory Council of Blake West, Sharon Diddle, Josh Huyett, Lisa Brummett, Ron Millard, Lonny Hunt, Sarah Marolf and Sally Roth for 2025. Dave Hall moved that the leadership advisory council, as presented in the letter, be sustained. It was seconded and passed by a show of hands in person and via Zoom.

Kat called attention to the list of submitted names for delegates to the 2025 World Conference. The names of Suzanne Scribner, Lacey Albro, Lehi German and Ruth May have been added since the printing. Voting on the delegates will take place later in the business session.

# **Business meeting suspended for Mission Center and World Church updates.**

## Business meeting reconvened.

The MMC business meeting was reconvened by MMC president team member, Allen Keehler. Sharon Robertson will continue to serve as secretary.

Allen called attention to the printed delegate list with the added names and as Midlands Mission Center was allocated 64 seats at World Conference 2025 and there are only 60 names submitted, he declared them all approved.

# **Budgets:**

Steve Beckman was called to the floor and moved that the 2025 Midlands Mission Center budget be approved. Kat Hnatyshyn seconded the motion. After discussion, Allen asked if there needed to be a motion to address the issue of a donation by a congregation to help fund the hiring of a Peace and Justice Specialist.

Aaron Laughlin moved to increase the "Congregational Pledges" by \$35,000 and in addition to increase "Total Human Resources" by \$35,000. A second was received.

Suzanne Scribner made a motion to insert the words "in anticipation of hiring a Peace and Justice Specialist" after the {"Congregational Pledges" by \$35,000}. It received a second and carried.

A vote was taken on the amended amendment and it carried.

The 2025 Midlands Mission Center budget was approved as amended.

Resolved that the proposed 2024 budget for Central Avenue Center of Hope be approved. Kerry Lukenbill moved that the motion be approved. It was seconded, and the motion was approved by a show of hands in person and via Zoom.

Resolved that the proposed 2024 budget for Chihowa Retreat Center be approved. Aaron Laughlin moved that the motion be approved. It was seconded, and the motion was approved by a show of hands in person and via Zoom.

## **Internal Financial Statement and Procedures Inspection Reports**

John Mueller moved to accept the reports from Internal Financial Statement and Procedures Inspection for Midlands Mission Center and Chihowa Retreat Center. It received a second and was approved.

#### **Affiliate Board Seats**

Allen stated that John Mueller submitted his name for the open seat on the Chihowa Retreat Center Board and called for a motion to approve the following affiliate board seats in one group:

Chihowa Retreat Center HUD – Prairie Development and Westward Development

3-year terms
John Mueller
Greg Bassett

3-year term
Kerry Lukenbill
Jane Lundrum

Aaron Laughlin

Central Avenue Center of Hope SHARE, inc. 3-year terms Keegan Troth Patricia Sharp Paul Wilson

Melissa Shields Rachael Shoffstall

Lake Doniphan Retreat Center 2-year term 3-year term Alicia Huffman Gary Libeer

John Mueller moved that these seats be approved. It was seconded and carried by a show of hands in person and via Zoom.

# **New Business & Adjournment**

Allen called for new business and heard none. Steve Beckman expressed thanks to Kristine Shipley for the years of service she gave as a member of the MMC Financial Leadership Team. Allen declared the meeting adjourned. .

Respectively Submitted,

Sharon Robertson